Armed Forces Tribunal · Armed Forces Tribunal

Disability Pension for Ex-Servicemen After the Supreme Court's September 2026 Ruling: Who Must Prove What, and How to Claim

By Shri Law Editorial Board ·

On 15 September 2026, in Union of India v. Col. N.C. Isaac, the Supreme Court dismissed about 271 appeals filed by the Union against grants of disability pension and clarified who bears the burden of proof under the Entitlement Rules. This article explains the presumption in favour of the soldier, the fifteen-year exception, the weight given to Medical Board opinions, the 2026 rulings on broad-banding arrears, and the route from a rejected claim to the Armed Forces Tribunal.

Disability pension is paid to members of the armed forces whose disability is attributable to, or aggravated by, military service. In practice, most claims turn on a single question: was the disability caused or worsened by service? The answer is usually given first by a Medical Board, and a negative opinion often leads to rejection of the claim.

On 15 September 2026, in Union of India v. Col. N.C. Isaac (Retd.), 2026 INSC 993, the Supreme Court dismissed a batch of about 271 appeals and petitions filed by the Union of India against grants of disability pension, and clarified how the burden of proof operates under the Entitlement Rules. This article explains that decision, the related 2026 rulings on arrears, and the procedure for pursuing a claim. It reflects the law as verified on 22 October 2026.

THE RULES THAT GOVERN ENTITLEMENT

Entitlement to disability pension has been governed by the Entitlement Rules for Casualty Pensionary Awards, 1982, and later by the Entitlement Rules for Casualty Pensionary Awards, 2008. The 1982 Rules contained a presumption that a member who was found fit at the time of entry, and who was later discharged with a disability, suffered that disability as a result of service, unless the contrary was shown. The Supreme Court's earlier decision in Dharamvir Singh v. Union of India was rendered under the 1982 Rules.

The 2008 Rules are framed differently. They add a requirement of a causal connection between the disability and service, and do not carry forward the presumption of attributability in the same form. The Union argued in N.C. Isaac that tribunals had continued to apply the 1982 approach mechanically to claims governed by the 2008 Rules.

The Court also observed that the Union had not been able to show the source, time and method by which the 2008 Rules were brought into force, described them as a collation of modified executive instructions, and stated that the applicable rules should be formulated and notified authoritatively by the competent authority as early as possible (paragraphs 22 and 28).

WHO MUST PROVE WHAT UNDER THE 2008 RULES

The Supreme Court held that adding a causal requirement and removing the presumption of attributability did not by itself change the core scheme, because the other beneficial provisions broadly remain untouched. The onus to prove that a member's disability is not attributable to service still lies on the employer, and where the cause of the disability is unknown and the presumption is not rebutted, the disability is treated as attributable to service. Rule 7 of the 2008 Rules, read with Rule 423 of the Regulations for the Medical Services of the Armed Forces, 2010, continues to give the member a reasonable benefit of doubt (paragraph 30.7). The Court concluded that the 2008 Rules substantially reproduce the 1982 scheme on causation, onus and attributability or aggravation, subject to one exception (paragraph 34).

THE FIFTEEN-YEAR EXCEPTION

That exception is the proviso to Rule 7 of the 2008 Rules, which has no equivalent in the 1982 Rules. Where a claim is made more than fifteen years after discharge, the burden shifts to the claimant (paragraphs 33 and 39(iii)). Relying on its earlier decision in Bhaskaran, the Court noted that within fifteen years the onus is primarily on the Department, and only after fifteen years is it entirely on the claimant (paragraph 31).

The practical consequence is that the timing of a claim matters. A person discharged with a disability who intends to claim disability pension should not delay, because a claim made after fifteen years must be proved by the claimant, often at a time when service and medical records may no longer be available.

THE WEIGHT OF THE MEDICAL BOARD'S OPINION

The Court accepted the submission of the Attorney General that the opinion of the Medical Board deserves due weight and should not be substituted merely because another view is possible. At the same time, it directed that in pending matters the Tribunal must scrutinise the Board's opinion and reasons in detail (paragraph 39(ii)).

The Court also relied on the principle that a negative Medical Board opinion discharges the Department's burden only if it is sound and not flawed in any manner, and that the member can discharge the initial burden by pointing out infirmities or illegalities in the Board's procedure or conclusions (paragraph 31). An opinion that records a disability as neither attributable to nor aggravated by service, without reasons connected to the member's medical history and service conditions, is therefore open to challenge.

WHAT THE DECISION MEANS FOR PAST AND PENDING CASES

The Court dismissed the Union's appeals on the grounds of delay as well as on merits, noting that most of them were barred by limitation (paragraphs 38 and 39(i)). Grants of disability pension made in that batch therefore stand.

However, the Court also observed that where the Tribunal or a High Court had allowed claims by applying the presumption, or the decision in Dharamvir, without examining the evidence in detail, there is a case for revisiting those decisions, and that the Union must identify such cases and raise objections showing whether the burden has been discharged (paragraph 35). For claims still pending, applicants should expect the Medical Board's reasons to be examined closely and should be prepared to address them on evidence rather than relying on the presumption alone.

BROAD-BANDING AND ARREARS

Disability pension is computed on the percentage of disability, which is broad-banded: under Government instructions of 31 January 2001, a disability below fifty per cent is reckoned as fifty per cent, between fifty and seventy-five per cent as seventy-five per cent, and above seventy-five per cent as one hundred per cent. A three-Judge Bench of the Supreme Court in Union of India v. Ram Avtar, decided on 10 December 2014, extended this benefit to personnel who retire on superannuation with a disability attributable to or aggravated by service, and not only to those invalided out.

In Union of India v. Sgt. Girish Kumar, 2026 INSC 149, decided on 12 February 2026, the Supreme Court held that arrears arising from broad-banding cannot be restricted to three years before the filing of the application before the Armed Forces Tribunal. It treated such claims as re-computation of pensions already sanctioned, held that the arrears are vested property protected under Article 300A of the Constitution, and rejected objections based on limitation, delay and laches.

On 12 October 2026, on an application by the Union, the Court clarified that the February judgment cannot be read as entitling every claimant to disability pension with arrears, and that each claim shall be decided on its own merits: Union of India v. Sgt. Girish Kumar, 2026 INSC 1113 (paragraph 8). The distinction is between claimants whose entitlement to the disability element was already accepted and who seek only re-computation, and claimants whose entitlement itself is disputed.

HOW TO PURSUE A CLAIM

A claim for disability pension that is rejected may be appealed within the service hierarchy. The figures recorded by the Supreme Court in N.C. Isaac show how few such appeals succeed at that stage: of 2,997 first appeals, about 142 were accepted, and of 456 second appeals, 17 were accepted (paragraph 38). The departmental appeal nonetheless matters, because the Armed Forces Tribunal will not ordinarily admit an application unless the available remedies have been exhausted.

Under Section 21 of the Armed Forces Tribunal Act, 2007, remedies are deemed to be exhausted when the competent authority has passed a final order rejecting the petition or representation, or when six months have passed from the date on which it was preferred without a final order. Under Section 22, the application to the Tribunal must ordinarily be filed within six months of the final order, or within six months after the expiry of that six-month period where no order is passed. The Tribunal may admit a later application if the applicant shows sufficient cause for the delay.

The Tribunal sits through its Principal Bench at New Delhi and Regional Benches, including at Lucknow. An order of the Tribunal may be challenged before the Supreme Court in appeal under Sections 30 and 31 of the Act, which require leave on a point of law of general public importance. In Union of India v. Parashotam Dass, decided on 21 March 2023, a three-Judge Bench held that there is no per se restriction on the exercise of power under Article 226 of the Constitution by the High Court over orders of the Tribunal (paragraph 32).

DOCUMENTS TO GATHER

The documents usually required are: the discharge book or discharge certificate; the record of the Release Medical Board or Invaliding Medical Board, including the opinion on attributability and aggravation and the percentage of disability; the medical documents recorded at enrolment or commissioning; records of hospital admissions and treatment during service; postings and service conditions relevant to the disability, such as field, high-altitude or stressful assignments; the pension payment order; the rejection letter and any departmental appeals and replies; and, for broad-banding claims, the order fixing the disability element.

PRACTICAL SUMMARY

After Col. N.C. Isaac, the burden of showing that a disability is not attributable to service remains on the employer under the 2008 Rules, and an unexplained disability is treated as attributable to service, but a claim made more than fifteen years after discharge must be proved by the claimant. A Medical Board's opinion carries due weight but must be reasoned, and its procedure and conclusions can be questioned. Arrears arising from broad-banding of an accepted disability element are not limited to three years, but every claim is assessed on its own facts. A claim should be made promptly, pursued through the departmental appeal, and taken to the Armed Forces Tribunal within the statutory period, with the medical and service record in hand.

This article is intended for general information and does not constitute legal advice. The applicable law and the facts of each case should be examined before any action is taken.

Key Authorities Cited

  • Union of India v. Col. N.C. Isaac (Retd.) — Supreme Court of India, September 15, 2026, 2026 INSC 993 (paras 22, 28, 30.7, 31, 33, 34, 35, 38, 39)
  • Union of India v. Sgt. Girish Kumar — Supreme Court of India, February 12, 2026, 2026 INSC 149
  • Union of India v. Sgt. Girish Kumar (clarification order) — Supreme Court of India, October 12, 2026, 2026 INSC 1113 (paras 8)
  • Union of India v. Ram Avtar — Supreme Court of India, December 10, 2014, Three-Judge Bench
  • Union of India v. Parashotam Dass — Supreme Court of India, March 21, 2023, Three-Judge Bench (paras 32)

Statutory Provisions

  • Entitlement Rules for Casualty Pensionary Awards to the Armed Forces Personnel, 2008 — Rule 7 and proviso (onus of proof; burden on the claimant for claims made more than fifteen years after discharge)
  • Entitlement Rules for Casualty Pensionary Awards, 1982 — Rules 5 and 9 (presumption of sound condition at entry; onus of proof)
  • Regulations for the Medical Services of the Armed Forces, 2010 — Rule 423 (attributability and aggravation)
  • Armed Forces Tribunal Act, 2007 — Section 21 (exhaustion of remedies; six months deemed exhaustion) and Section 22 (limitation; condonation of delay)
  • Armed Forces Tribunal Act, 2007 — Sections 30 and 31 (appeal to the Supreme Court with leave)
  • Constitution of India — Article 226 (writ jurisdiction of High Courts) and Article 300A (right to property)

Frequently Asked Questions

Who has to prove that my disability was caused by military service?

Under the Supreme Court's ruling in Union of India v. Col. N.C. Isaac (15 September 2026), the onus of proving that a disability is not attributable to service lies on the employer under the 2008 Entitlement Rules, and where the cause is unknown and the presumption is not rebutted, the disability is treated as attributable to service. The exception is a claim made more than fifteen years after discharge, where the burden shifts to the claimant.

The Medical Board said my disability is not attributable to service. Can I challenge it?

Yes. The Supreme Court held that the Medical Board's opinion deserves due weight, but the Tribunal must scrutinise its reasons in detail, and the member can point out infirmities or illegalities in the Board's procedure or conclusions. An opinion that is not sound or is not supported by reasons does not discharge the employer's burden.

Does the fifteen-year rule affect my claim?

If you make your claim more than fifteen years after discharge, the proviso to Rule 7 of the 2008 Rules places the burden of proof on you. Claims made within fifteen years remain primarily the Department's burden. A claim should therefore be made as early as possible.

Are arrears of broad-banded disability pension limited to three years?

Not where entitlement to the disability element was already accepted and the claim is for re-computation. In Union of India v. Sgt. Girish Kumar (12 February 2026), the Supreme Court held that such arrears cannot be restricted to three years before the Tribunal application. In a clarification dated 12 October 2026, it added that each claim must be decided on its own merits and that the judgment does not entitle every claimant to arrears.

When can I approach the Armed Forces Tribunal?

Ordinarily after exhausting departmental remedies: either when your petition or appeal has been rejected by a final order, or when six months have passed without a decision. The application should be filed within six months after that, although the Tribunal can condone delay for sufficient cause.

Does the Armed Forces Tribunal have a bench at Prayagraj?

The Tribunal's official list of benches shows the Principal Bench at New Delhi and Regional Benches including Lucknow, Jabalpur, Jaipur and Chandigarh. No bench is listed at Prayagraj. Claimants in Uttar Pradesh should confirm the competent bench for their case before filing.

Can an order of the Armed Forces Tribunal be challenged in the High Court?

Yes. In Union of India v. Parashotam Dass (21 March 2023), the Supreme Court held that there is no per se restriction on the High Court's power under Article 226 over orders of the Tribunal. An appeal to the Supreme Court also lies under Sections 30 and 31 of the Act, with leave.

Sources & References

Related Articles

Back to all articles